MSFHR Board of Directors welcomes two new members

2 October 2017

MSFHR is pleased to announce the appointment of Drs. Joy Johnson and Geoffrey Payne to its Board of Directors. Together they bring a wealth of experience in both research and facilitating research excellence in BC.

Dr. Joy Johnson is the vice-president research and international at Simon Fraser University where she leads strategic research initiatives and facilitates international opportunities that foster research collaborations and student exchange.

Her work focuses on facilitating research excellence, helping organizations respond to new opportunities and fostering research partnerships with the community and industry.

Johnson received her PhD in nursing from the University of Alberta, and has served as a professor in the University of British Columbia School of Nursing and scientific director of the Institute of Gender and Health at the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Her research expertise is in the area of health promotion and behavioral change.

Dr. Geoffrey Payne is the interim vice-president of research at the University of Northern BC (UNBC) and a professor in the field of vascular physiology.

In addition to his biomedical research, Payne has an active research program in medical education in which his interests include curriculum, assessment and admissions.

Payne joined UNBC in June 2004 as founding faculty of the medical school following a post-doctoral fellowship at Yale University in the Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology and John B. Pierce Laboratory. He holds a PhD from Memorial University of Newfoundland in the field of cardiovascular and renal physiology.

In addition to two new members, the Foundation is also delighted to welcome Dr. Elinor Wilson as incoming Board chair and Steven Kinsey as vice chair.

The new appointments were approved by the MSFHR Board at its September 29 annual general meeting. The meeting also marked the retirement of four members, Dr. Evan Adams, Dr. Tom Feasby, Dr. John O’Neil (Chair 2015-2017) and Suromitra Sanatani. With a combined service of 22 years, their considerable contributions have made a lasting impact on MSFHR and their leadership will be sincerely missed.