Connections >> May 2016

20 May 2016

MSFHR announces 2016 Scholar Award recipients

Fifteen exceptional BC-based investigators have been named recipients of Scholar Awards through the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research 2016 Scholar Program competition.

The award recipients represent a bright future for health research in British Columbia. Their innovative projects span a broad range of disciplines and will help to address important health challenges for the benefit of all British Columbians.

With a maximum term of five years, MSFHR Scholar Awards help British Columbia create and sustain a base of excellence that fosters world-class research across the health spectrum.

Read the story

Learn how patients are reshaping health research in latest issue of Spark

Check out our latest issue of Spark!

Positive response to information forums on new funding programs

Our May sessions so far have been well received. Additional sessions are scheduled for June. Read more

Unique network involves community in bipolar disease research

CREST.BD is a multi-disciplinary network founded by MSFHR Scholar Erin Michalak. Read more

MSFHR People

Philip Hieter (2007 Research Unit Award) has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of his distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Congratulations to Jeremy Hirota (2011 Trainee) and Teresa Liu-Ambrose (2002 & 2003 Trainee; 2006 Scholar) who both received Vancouver Coastal Research Institute Innovation and Translational Research Awards. These awards support innovative research that will implement research outcomes and turn discoveries into opportunities for better health and improved therapies.

Steve Morgan (2004 Scholar) is the recipient of the 2016 CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Award. This award recognizes published research that has significantly contributed to the advancement of the field of health services and policy research in Canada.

Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes (2011 Scholar) has been awarded the 2016 PHC Research and Mission Award for her research in addictions, with a focus on testing alternative approaches to diversify treatments for vulnerable populations.

Aaron Phillips (2013 Trainee) has received the 2015 Killam Postdoctoral Research Prize. This prize recognizes outstanding research and scholarly contributions while at UBC, and is one of the most prestigious awards for a postdoctoral at the university.


Subscribe to our mailing list to receive Connections monthly!