Dr. Adeera Levin named 2015 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize winner

3 March 2015

Internationally renowned kidney disease researcher, Dr. Adeera Levin, has been named the winner of the sixth annual Aubrey J. Tingle Prize.

Created in honour of MSFHR’s founding president & CEO, this award is given to a British Columbia researcher whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has significant impact on advancing clinical or health services and policy research.

“Over the past 20 years, Dr. Levin has been a driving force in defining the field of chronic kidney disease and in translating these advances to simple and applicable public health measures that have been adopted throughout BC, ” says Dr. Diane Finegood, MSFHR president & CEO. “As a clinician and a scientist, she brings research evidence to the bedside to implement changes to improve care and health outcomes for patients living with chronic disease.”

In choosing Dr. Levin for this year’s award, the reviewers praised her as an outstanding clinician scientist in kidney disease who leads a strong group with international impact in nephrology. She has made significant contributions to the understanding of the determinants of kidney health and disease and has ensured this knowledge is shared with patients living with chronic kidney disease (CKD) and their health-care providers to improve clinical care and quality of life.

Dr. Levin is the head of the Division of Nephrology at UBC and consultant nephrologist at Providence Health Care. She also serves as the executive director of the BC Renal Agency which oversees the care and planning for kidney services in BC. In this capacity, she has drawn on both her background as a clinician and a researcher to develop to develop an evidence-based system that enhances the care of patients across the continuum, from diagnosis to treatment and transplantation.

Dr. Levin’s research focuses on the early development of kidney disease and its association with other conditions, particularly cardiovascular disease as well as models of care for patients living with CKD.

Dr. Levin is active in the international renal community, serving as secretary general of the International Society of Nephrology (ISN), and, for 2015-2017, president-elect. She has received numerous teaching and research awards from local and national groups. In 2014, she was presented with the Kidney Foundation of Canada’s Research Medal of Excellence. More recently, she was honored with the National Kidney Foundation’s International Distinguished Medal for 2015, which recognizes the achievement of individuals who have made a significant contribution to the field of kidney disease.

The 2015 Aubrey J. Tingle prize with be presented to Dr. Levin on April 16 at the 17th Annual LifeSciences BC Awards.