Dr. John O’Neil appointed chair of MSFHR Board of Directors

28 September 2015

The Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research is pleased to announce Dr. John O’Neil’s appointment as chair of MSFHR’s Board of Directors.

O’Neil, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University, assumed the role Sept. 25 at MSFHR’s annual general meeting.

O’Neil has previously served as director of the Manitoba First Nations Centre for Aboriginal Health Research, and professor and head of the Department of Community Health Sciences in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Manitoba. He is currently on the science advisory board of Health Canada; the advisory board of the National Collaborating Centre for Aboriginal Health; and the board of directors of NeuroDevNet.

MSFHR CEO Dr. Diane Finegood (left) thanks Dr. Sally Thorne for her dedicated service in the role of board chair.

O’Neil succeeds outgoing chair Dr. Sally Thorne, who recently completed her two-year term. Thorne will continue to serve on the board as past chair, and Dr. Elinor Wilson has been appointed vice-chair.

Read more: