Dr. Randy Gascoyne wins 2016 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize

24 February 2016

Marco Marra, Joe Connors, Randy Gascoyne, CRC 5th floor Lab,

Internationally renowned lymphoid cancer researcher Dr. Randy Gascoyne has been named the winner of the 2016 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize.

Created in honour of MSFHR’s founding president & CEO, this award is given to a British Columbia researcher whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has significant impact on advancing clinical or health services and policy research.

“We are thrilled to honor Dr. Gascoyne for his dedication to his patients and to excellence in health research here in BC at the BC Cancer Agency,” says Dr. Diane Finegood, MSFHR president & CEO. “Although originally hired more than 25 years ago to do 100 percent clinical work, Dr. Gascoyne has built a world class research program that puts him in the top 1 percent of the most influential scientists globally while still spending 40 percent of his time in clinical service. This is an amazing achievement and Dr. Gascoyne is a wonderful example of how we can provide world class patient care by enabling clinicians to do world class health research in BC.”

In choosing Dr. Gascoyne for this year’s award, the reviewers praised his exceptional publication record. With 460 peer-reviewed articles, over 30 book chapters and authorship of 472 abstracts at major scientific meetings, Dr. Gascoyne is ranked as Canada’s most published pathologist and one of its most published cancer researchers of all time. In 2014 and 2015, he made the list of the top 1 percent Most Influential Scientific Minds in the World.

Dr. Gascoyne is consultant hematopathlogist at the BC Cancer Agency, medical director of the Provincial Lymphoma Pathology Program, clinical professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at UBC, and distinguished scientist and department head of lymphoid cancer research at the BC Cancer Research Centre. He co-founded the Centre for Lymphoid Cancer, a model within the cancer research community demonstrating the power of integrating excellent, provincially organized cancer care with local, national and international collaboration to support innovative research focused on lymphoid cancer biology.

Dr. Gascoyne developed a fascination with lymphoid cancers, non-Hodgkin lymphoma, Hodgkin lymphoma, lymphocytic leukemia and myeloma early in his career and has focused his career on them since the 1980s. His research achievements include the genomics-based discovery of lymphoma-associated somatic gene mutations and related drug development and trial design, biomarker development and implementation of complex diagnostic tests into the routine laboratory for inclusion in clinical trial design.

He has received numerous awards, including the UBC Department of Pathlogy & Laboratory Medicine Research and Discovery Award in 2012 and the 2015 Dr. John Ultmann Award at the 15th Annual Lymphoma & Myeloma meeting for lifetime achievements in lymphoma research.

The 2016 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize with be presented to Dr. Gascoyne on April 21 at the 18th Annual LifeSciences BC Awards.