MSFHR announces 2014 Scholar award recipients

9 July 2014

Thirty-two exceptional BC health researchers have been named recipients of Scholar awards through MSFHR’s 2014 Scholar Program funding competition.

The award recipients, selected from a highly competitive pool of more than 120 applicants, represent a bright future for health research in BC. Their innovative projects span a broad range of disciplines and will help to address important health challenges for the benefit of all British Columbians.

> View the full list of 2014 Scholar award recipients

Three of this year’s Scholar awards will be jointly funded in partnership with BC-based not-for-profit organizations. MSFHR is pleased to partner with the BC Schizophrenia Society Foundation and the Rick Hansen Institute to support research directly relevant to these organizations’ mandates.

With a maximum term of five years, MSFHR Scholar Awards help British Columbia create and sustain a base of excellence that fosters world-class research across the health spectrum. MSFHR Scholar Awards enable recipients to: focus on research activities; train the next generation of investigators; attract additional funding from national and international sources; and generate high-quality knowledge economy jobs.

Since 2001, MSFHR has invested more than $117 million in funding more than 360 Scholar awards that directly support BC’s top health researchers.