MSFHR award recipients speak at international science conference

17 February 2012

Twelve past recipients of MSFHR awards are among the international research leaders slated to speak this weekend as Vancouver hosts one of the world’s largest scientific gatherings.

From February 16 to 20, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting will take over the Vancouver Convention Centre, bringing together an expected 7,000 scientists from 60 countries. Among the MSFHR-connected researchers participating in topical lectures and seminars are:

  • Raymond Andersen – 2003 Research Unit Award
  • Samuel Aparicio – 2007 Research Unit Award
  • Pieter Cullis – 2007 Technology Methodology Platform Award
  • Michael Hayden – MSFHR Board Member, 2011 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize
  • David Huntsman – 2002 & 2007 Career Investigator Award
  • Judy Illes – 2008 Team Planning Award
  • Julio Montaner – 2010 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize
  • Christopher Overall – 2003 Research Unit Award, 2007 Technology Methodology Platform
  • Natalie Prystajecky – 2006 Research Trainee Award
  • Wolfram Tetzlaff – 2007 Team Start-Up Award
  • Janet Werker – 2004 Research Unit Award
  • E. Paul Zehr – 2003 Career Investigator Award, Past RAC Chair

The theme of AAAS 2012 is “Flattening the World: Building a Global Knowledge Society." The program is intended to focus on the complex interconnected challenges of the 21st century and on pathways to global solutions through international, multidisciplinary efforts.

AAAS is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, and professional association. AAAS publishes the journal Science in addition to many scientific newsletters, books, and reports.