MSFHR board of directors welcomes two new members

30 September 2014

The Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research is pleased to announce the appointment of Suromitra Sanatani and Joan Young to its board of directors.

The incoming directors bring with them a wealth of experience from across the health, business, and government sectors.

Sanatani is current Chair of the Royal BC Museum and a director with Canadian Blood Services and the Victoria Airport Authority. She has previously served on the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, the federal Advisory Panel on Responsible Conduct of Research, and the Pacific Parkinson’s Research Institute board of directors. Sanatani also played a pivotal role in establishing Partnerships BC and served as Vice-President, Corporate and Government Relations for this crown corporation specializing in public-private partnerships.

Young is a partner and senior litigator at McMillan, LLP, one of Canada’s largest law firms. As a former Legal Advisor to the Office of the Premier and Special Assistant to the Attorney General, she has significant public sector experience serving on both the policy and legal sides of the Ministry of Attorney General for eight years. Young previously held appointments as a director of the Victoria Airport Authority, the Food Innovation Centre of BC, and the Vancouver Island Multiple Sclerosis Society.

The new directors’ appointments were approved by the MSFHR board at its September 26 annual general meeting.

The meeting also marked the retirement of Dr. Martin Taylor from the MSFHR board of directors. Over the course of nine years, Taylor served terms as chair, vice-chair, and past-chair, in addition to chairing the board’s finance committee and nominating and governance committee. His considerable efforts have made a lasting impact on MSFHR, and the Foundation thanks him for his many contributions.