Distinguished research leaders join MSFHR’s Research Leaders Forum

26 September 2017

MSFHR is delighted to convene the first MSFHR Research Leaders Forum, a group of internationally recognized researchers who will advise the Foundation on the trends, challenges and opportunities shaping health research at provincial, national and international levels.

Following a nomination process, the MSFHR Board of Directors has selected 15 distinguished researchers from across the broad spectrum of BC health research to form the first Research Leaders Forum. 

This group of leading researchers will draw on expertise in health care, industry, academia, and both health and health research policy, to provide the MSFHR Board and senior management with strategic insights and expert advice to guide the Foundation’s strategic direction and strengthen BC’s research ecosystem.

“The Research Leaders Forum is a means for MSFHR to seek advice from leading researchers to ensure the Foundation has the best information possible in order to meet the needs of the BC research community,” said Bev Holmes, MSFHR’s interim president & CEO. “The Forum will look ahead and provide strategic insight on how emerging trends might impact our work to support the advancement of health research in BC."

Reporting in an advisory capacity to the MSFHR Board of Directors, Forum members will meet twice a year, with each member appointed for a single two year term. Together, the members will identify and provide strategic insights on research trends, and explore emerging research relevant to MSFHR’s mandate and activities, to help ensure that MSFHR is well equipped to continue supporting the advancement of world-class health research in BC.

Find out more about the Research Leaders Forum

MSFHR Research Leaders Forum members

  • Dr. Lori Brotto
  • Dr. Helen Burt
  • Dr. Brian Christie
  • Dr. Pieter Cullis
  • Dr. Margo Greenwood
  • Dr. Bob Hancock
  • Dr. Judy Illes
  • Dr. Diane Lacaille
  • Dr. Martha MacLeod
  • Dr. Carlo Menon
  • Dr. Sonia Singh
  • Dr. Tim Stockwell
  • Dr. Jason Sutherland
  • Dr. Charlotte Waddell
  • Dr. Wyeth Wasserman

Biographies for all Forum members are available here.