MSFHR thanks retiring board members; welcomes new ones

21 October 2010

Three new members were appointed to MSFHR's Board of Directors and a new Research Advisory Council chair (RAC) was appointed effective September 27, 2010 at MSFHR's annual general meeting. Mrs. Lynda Cranston (President and CEO of the Provincial Health Services Authority), Dr. Michael Hayden (Professor, UBC Medicine/Medical Genetics and Director, Centre for Molecular Medicine and Therapeutics) and Dr. Sally Thorne (Professor, UBC School of Nursing) join MSFHR with a range of expertise in the research, hospital and university sectors. Diabetes researcher Dr. Bruce Verchere (Head, Diabetes Research Program, Child and Family Research Institute) succeeds Dr. E. Paul Zehr as the new RAC chair and ex-officio board member. "We are delighted with these appointments — our new board members and RAC chair have a wealth of experience and expertise to offer MSFHR," says President and CEO Dr. John Challis.

MSFHR thanks retiring board members Ms. Natalie Dakers and Dr. David Dolphin as well as outgoing RAC chair Dr. E. Paul Zehr. "Their involvement with MSFHR and commitment to strengthening health research in BC has translated into many successes for the Foundation," says Dr. Challis "Each one of them has been a distinguished and valued member of our team, and we wish them all the best."