New MSFHR research awards an investment in the health of British Columbians

22 August 2011

The Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2010/11 research scholar and trainee funding competitions. Of the more than 300 applicants, MSFHR has funded 95 individuals working in diverse fields of health research. Thirty-two scholar awards will support researchers establishing or building research programs to address critical health issues. Awards to 63 post-doctoral fellows will provide an additional three years of advanced research training to prepare the next generation of scholars for our BC universities and hospital-based research centres.

“Through these awards, MSFHR is investing in a healthy future for British Columbia,” says Dr. Bruce Clayman, MSFHR’s interim President & CEO. “Providing support to the scholars helps recruit and keep these exceptional investigators in BC, enabling them to establish research programs that can attract additional funding into the province. The post-doctoral fellows hold promise to become the next generation of premier health researchers.”

The Foundation, celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, is funded primarily by the BC government, with a mandate to strengthen BC’s health research enterprise.

“A commitment to health research is a commitment to advancing the health of BC families,” says Health Minister Michael de Jong. “From seeking a cure for childhood diabetes, to HPV vaccine research, to helping patients in remote communities better manage chronic diseases at home, the Foundation supports health research that benefits thousands of families.”

Thanks to the BC government, MSFHR’s award competitions have funded more than 1,400 awards to outstanding researchers — from trainees through well-established investigators — who are working to resolve health and health system challenges. The Foundation also funds research teams, supports research projects, and brings together BC’s universities, health authorities, non-profit organizations and government for health research planning and action.

This year nine provincial and national organizations co-funded MSFHR’s post-doctoral awards, expanding the number of recipients by 15. We gratefully acknowledge the support of AllerGen NCE, BC Cancer Foundation, BC Epilepsy Society, Breast Cancer Society of Canada, Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada, NeuroDevNet NCE, Provincial Health Services Authority, Rick Hansen Institute, and Women’s Health Research Institute. A full list of MSFHR-funded scholars and post-doctoral fellows is available at

A backgrounder on four of our awardees accompanies this release.