Nominations open for 2013 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize

6 February 2013

The Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research is pleased to open nominations for the fourth annual Aubrey J. Tingle Prize and Lecture.

This prize is given to a British Columbia clinician scientist or scholar practitioner whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has significant impact on advancing clinical or health services and policy research — as well as its uptake — to improve health and the health system in BC and globally. The prize winner will present at an MSFHR event to be scheduled later in 2013. The prize is valued at $10,000. The deadline for nominations has been extended to Tuesday, April 2.

Review and selection of the candidates will be made by a volunteer panel comprised of researchers with expertise in practice-relevant health and health system research. The panel’s recommendation will be  forwarded to MSFHR’s Board of Directors for ratification.

The Aubrey J. Tingle Prize was created to honour the important role that Dr. Tingle played as founding president & CEO of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research from 2001 to his retirement in June 2008. A pediatrician and immunologist, Dr. Tingle has maintained a lifelong interest in the role of viruses in disease, with particular interest in rubella arthritis and juvenile diabetes.

Past winners include Dr. Julio Montaner (2010), Dr. Michael Hayden (2011) and Dr. Bruce McManus (2012).

For more information or to nominate a candidate, please refer to the competition page.