Nominations open for 2016 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize

7 December 2015

The Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR) is pleased to open nominations for the seventh annual Aubrey J. Tingle Prize.

This prize is given to a British Columbia clinician scientist whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has significant impact on advancing clinical or health services and policy research — as well as its uptake — to improve health and the health system in BC and globally.

MSFHR is proud to present the 2016 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize in partnership with LifeSciences BC for the second consecutive year. The prize will be presented April 21, 2016, as part of the 18th annual LifeSciences BC Awards.

The deadline for nominations is Sunday, January 31, 2016.

> Nomination instructions and eligibility criteria

Review and selection of the candidates will be made by a volunteer panel comprised of researchers with expertise in practice-relevant health and health system research. The panel’s recommendation will be  forwarded to MSFHR’s Board of Directors for ratification.

For more information or to nominate a candidate, please refer to the competition page.

The Aubrey J. Tingle Prize was created to honour the important role that Dr. Tingle played as founding president & CEO of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research from 2001 to his retirement in June 2008. A pediatrician and immunologist, Dr. Tingle has maintained a lifelong interest in the role of viruses in disease, with particular interest in rubella arthritis and juvenile diabetes.

Past winners include Dr. Julio Montaner (2010), Dr. Michael Hayden (2011), Dr. Bruce McManus (2012), Dr. Martin Gleave (2013), Dr. Samuel Aparicio (2014), and Dr. Adeera Levin (2015).

Dr. Levin was recently presented with the prize at MSFHR’s 2015 Trainee recognition event. During the event, she shared perspectives on her work in nephrology with the up-and-coming researchers. The complete lecture is available for viewing in the video above.