Nominations open for 2019 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize

19 November 2018

Do you have a BC health research colleague that deserves to win an award for their research and impact? Nominate them for the 2019 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize by Friday February 8, 2019.

MSFHR’s Aubrey J. Tingle Prize is awarded annually to a BC-based clinician scientist whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has had a significant impact on advancing research – and its implementation – to improve health and the health system in BC and globally.

Previous recipients include clinician scientists whose research has redefined patient care and disease prevention, in areas ranging from gynecological cancer to sepsis and HIV/AIDs.

Nominate a BC-based clinician scientist who:

  • Is actively engaged in clinical or health services and policy research.
  • Is internationally recognized for their research and its translation to improve health and the health system.
  • Goes above and beyond to mentor more junior investigators.

Nominations, consisting of two letters of support plus the nominee’s CV and publication list, will be reviewed by a volunteer panel of researchers with expertise in practice-relevant health and health system research. Their recommendation will be forwarded to the executive committee of MSFHR’s Board of Directors for ratification.

The 2019 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize will be presented on April 4, 2019, as part of the 21st Annual LifeSciences BC Awards.

The Aubrey J. Tingle Prize was created to honour the important role that Dr. Tingle played as founding president & CEO of MSFHR from 2001 to his retirement in 2008. A pediatrician and immunologist, Dr. Tingle has maintained a lifelong interest in the role of viruses in disease, with particular interest in rubella arthritis and juvenile diabetes.