Nominations open for the 2021 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize

11 May 2021

A multi ethnic group of medical staff consisting of doctors and nurses are in a meeting on the COVID-19 vaccination roll out plan. A senior female doctor is standing at the front giving a presentation while holding the bottle of vaccine.

Do you know a BC health researcher who deserves to be recognized for their contributions to clinical or health services, their high-calibre research, and a commitment to mentoring junior colleagues in their field? Nominate them today for the 2021 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize by June 2, 2021.

The MSFHR Aubrey J. Tingle Prize is awarded annually to a BC-based clinician scientist whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has had a significant impact on advancing research – and its implementation – to improve health and the health system. Since 2015, the award has been presented in partnership with Life Sciences BC as part of the annual Life Sciences BC Awards.

Past Aubrey J. Tingle Prize recipients include clinician scientists whose research has redefined patient care and disease prevention in areas including women’s health, sepsis, HIV/AIDs, and genetic drivers of cancer.

Nominate a BC-based clinician scientist who:

  • Is actively engaged in clinical or health services and policy research.
  • Is noteworthy for their research and its translation to improve health and the health system.
  • Goes above and beyond to mentor students and junior investigators.

Nominations, consisting of two letters of support plus the nominee’s CV and publication list, will be reviewed by an external review panel. Recognizing diversity in research is important to cultivating talent and promoting inclusive excellence, which in turn drives discovery and helps build a more innovative and impactful health research system. We actively encourage nominations of clinician scientists from groups who have been historically underrepresented in health research including women, Indigenous people, and people of colour.

“Mentoring broadens our reach more and spreads the seed. I take satisfaction that people I’ve mentored have caught the passion from me or others and have run with it,” says 2020 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize recipient and renowned cancer researcher Dr. Poul Sorensen. “That’s virtually as satisfying as your own discoveries, especially if they find something really ground breaking.”

The 2021 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize will be presented in September 2021 at the 23rd Annual Life Sciences BC Awards celebration.

Nomination instructions and eligibility criteria

The Aubrey J. Tingle Prize was created to honour the important role that Dr. Tingle played as founding president & CEO of MSFHR from 2001 to his retirement in 2008. A pediatrician and immunologist, Dr. Tingle has maintained a lifelong interest in the role of viruses in disease, with particular interest in rubella arthritis and juvenile diabetes. Learn more about Dr. Tingle and his contributions to BC’s health research landscape.