About the Aubrey J. Tingle Prize

The Aubrey J. Tingle Prize is awarded annually to a British Columbia-based clinician scientist whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has had a significant impact on advancing research in their field — as well as the uptake of this evidence — to improve health and the health system in BC and globally.

The prize was created to honour Dr. Aubrey J. Tingle’s important contributions to BC health research as founding President & CEO of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research. A pediatrician and an immunologist, Dr. Tingle has maintained a lifelong interest in the role of viruses in disease, with particular interest in rubella, arthritis, and the possible viral causes of juvenile diabetes.

2021 Competition is Closed

The 2021 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize competition is now closed. Stay tuned for more information on future competitions!

More information

Tracy Moloney

Manager, Research Competitions



Past Aubrey J. Tingle Prize recipients