2019 Health Professional-Investigator review panel members

We recruit reviewers who are subject matter experts in areas that directly align with the applications we’ve received. These reviewers are selected for their research excellence, breadth of knowledge, and maturity of judgment.

Biomedical & Clinical

Dr. Mari DeMarco
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Faculty of Medicine
University of British Columbia
Dr. Guillaume Paré
Scientific Officer
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology & Molecular Medicine
McMaster University
Dr. Eyal Grunebaum     Associate Professor    
Department of Immunology    
University of Toronto
Dr. Kathryn King-Shier Professor
Faculty of Nursing & Department of Community Health Sciences
University of Calgary
Dr. Shawn Aaron Professor
Department of Medicine, Respiratory Medicine
University of Ottawa
Dr. Dominik Mertz Associate Professor
Division of Infections Diseases, Department of Medicine
McMaster University
Dr. Cynthia Hawkins Associate Professor
Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology
University of Toronto
Dr. Anne Gillis Professor
Cardiac Sciences, Medicine    
Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta 
University of Calgary 
Dr. Carolyn Owen Associate Professor
Department of Medicine, Hematology
University of Calgary


Health Services Research & Population Health

Dr. Richard Sawatzky
Associate Professor
School of Nursing
Trinity Western University
Dr. Vivian Ramsden
Scientific Officer
Department of Academic Family Medicine 
University of Saskatchewan
Dr. Gary Groot Professor
College of Medicine, Community Health & Epidemiology
University of Saskatchewan
Dr. Mary Brindle Associate Professor
Department of Surgery
University of Calgary
Dr. Francis Lau Professor
School of Health Information Science
University of Victoria

Resources for 2019 HP-I review panel members (PDF)

Information for applicants can be found on the 2019 HP-I competition page.

Return to review process page.