Aubrey J. Tingle Prize

The Aubrey J. Tingle Prize is awarded annually to a British Columbia clinician scientist whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has had a significant impact on advancing research in their field — as well as the uptake of this evidence — to improve health and the health system in BC and globally.

The prize was created to honour Dr. Aubrey J. Tingle’s important contributions to BC health research as founding president & CEO of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research. A pediatrician and an immunologist, Dr. Tingle has maintained a lifelong interest in the role of viruses in disease, with particular interest in rubella, arthritis, and the possible viral causes of juvenile diabetes.

MSFHR is proud to present the 2021 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize in partnership with LifeSciences BC. The award will be presented in Fall 2021 as part of the 23rd annual LifeSciences BC Awards.

Nominations for the 2021 Aubrey J. Tingle Prize are opening soon!

Eligibility requirements

Submit a nomination

See former prize winners

To submit a nomination, please refer to the materials below.

Eligibility criteria

  • The nominee must be a British Columbia-based clinician scientist who is actively engaged in clinical or health services and policy research.[1]
  • The nominee must be notable for their contribution to research in their field and its translation to improve health and the health system.
  • The nominee's research should be recognizable internationally as novel, original and of the highest caliber.
  • The individual should have a significant mentorship record above and beyond supervision of trainees. They should be regarded as a role model to students and investigators in their field.
  • The nominee has an established track record of research productivity. 

[1] Candidates must be PhD prepared. Clinician scientist can include health professionals belonging to a board-certified/board-eligible health profession and a member of the appropriate provincial/national certification body (BC Health Regulators) and medical doctors. Candidates must hold an MD, MD-equivalent or PhD.

Nomination and review process

The nomination package must consist of:

  • Letters from two sponsors: the first from the person proposing the candidate, outlining the rationale for this nomination and addressing the eligibility criteria; the second from an individual willing to endorse the nomination.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae, including a description of their five most significant contributions and a list of publications in the past 10 years.
  • Two of the nominee’s best publications.
  • Contact information (phone & email) for the person being nominated.[2]

Nominations will undergo review by an external review panel for recommendations. 

[2] Information will only be used to contact the successful award recipient.


For more information about the prize or the nomination process, contact:

Tracy Moloney
Manager, Research Competitions

Past Aubrey J. Tingle Prize recipients